Brian, Alabama: North

This was my first connecting map – an extension of the first I posted – centered around Yaupon Lake. It’s similar to the first in that the street grid is terribly unrealistic. Nevertheless, there’s two main North-South arteries (I-61 and I-65) connected by three loops (I-210/Inner Loop, I-610/Middle Loop, I-465/Outer Loop).

There are a bunch of clues in this map relating to my life in 1999: my trip to Colorado (Durango and Pagosa High Schools, Pagosa Airport), my season passes to Six Flags Fiesta Texas (Six Flags), my parents’ search for a home in Northwest Austin (Yaupon Lake). There are also clues of my exposure to Austin’s Levander Loop (the intersection of US 183 and Airport Blvd, which seems to have influenced my intersection of I-61 and I-610).

Now, if only I could fix the implausible water flow in this one…

Leave a Reply

